Skip to content

Sad Goodbyes and Glad Beginnings

February 21, 2013

The time has come, sooner than any of us expected, for the blog of a Conservation Intern to come to an end. I’ve been sacked for being completely useless…

 Only joking- I’ve got a job! I am off to work for the National Trust at the beautiful Mompesson House in Salisbury. This is absolutely fantastic and I cannot wait to start my new job; however, leaving Plas Newydd is very difficult. I have had an amazing time here: everyone has been so kind and supportive, I’ve made some great friends, and I’ve been given the skills and experience to begin my dream career with the National Trust. I know that it is better to be sad to leave than desperate to get away, but when I look out of my window at the stunning view across the Menai Strait to Snowdonia it breaks my heart a little to leave. I will greatly miss Anglesey, Plas Newydd and everyone here.

Alright, enough of that emotional rubbish- this blog is not just about me, its about Plas Newydd, so here’s a brief summary of what has happened in the last couple of weeks: We had a pancake party where families got to play games, toss pancakes, and design their own fantasy pancakes as well as tuck in to some pancakes they topped themselves. We’ve also returned to the Saloon wall the Ommeganck painting that was damaged in the 2011 flood and restored by Alan Bush. In further Saloon flood work we have been using an Archipress machine to remove the water from the books that got caught in the flood. Finally, we’ve had clock expert Sue Ford in to look at some of our timepieces that were in need of attention. Sorry for the brief nature of this catch-up, there are more details on our facebook, twitter, etc.

So, with that, my time writing about Plas Newydd comes to an end. It’s on to pastures new and I know I am going to love working at Mompesson House. It’s an eighteenth-century townhouse and was featured in the Emma Thompson Sense and Sensibility film (I’m getting ever closer to my fantasy of being in a Jane Austen novel). I might even keep on blogging from Mompesson, so watch this space.

For now, goodbye. I’ve really enjoyed creating my blogs and I hope people have enjoyed reading them. Never before did I think I would put so many pictures of myself in a fleece on the internet.

Look how beautiful it is here! How can I leave?!

Look how beautiful it is here! How can I leave?!

The Octagon- my favourite room in the house with its red toile de jouy and stunning views

The Octagon- my favourite room in the house with its red toile de jouy and stunning views

The portrait of the 1st Marquess of Anglesey- hero of Waterloo and general stud (he had 18 kids). He is my portrait crush!

The portrait of the 1st Marquess of Anglesey- hero of Waterloo and general stud (he had 18 kids). He is my portrait crush!

Myself with Rex Whistler's self-portrait in his dining room painting. Its an amazing painting and I have loved getting to tell visitors all about it. I'll miss Rex.

Myself with Rex Whistler’s self-portrait in his dining room painting. Its an amazing painting and I have loved getting to tell visitors all about it. I’ll miss Rex.

So long and thanks for all the follows!

 Chloe x 

Goodbye!

Goodbye!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2013 8:55 am

    Congratulations on the job! So pleased for you 🙂 I hope it all goes well and you have just as much fun at Mompesson House as you have been having at Plas Newydd! It looks lovely, best of luck.
    Ell

  2. Ken permalink
    February 22, 2013 11:57 am

    It has been so lovely to read your blogs over the last year and to note how dedicated you have been to the work that goes on at Plas Newydd. I wish you every success with your new appointment and know you will be very much missed with your friends in Anglesey.

Leave a Reply

The Hidden Wardrobe

A costume collection explored....

Death and Disaster at Plas Newydd

A behind the scenes look at tragedy in the history of this National Trust property

keepersmate

Gamekeepers, Beaters & Guns

East Riddlesden Hall

Interesting facts and information about our collection and the work that we do.

nthardwick

Elizabethan Hall built by 'Bess of Hardwick', walled garden and parkland

Nostell Priory Conservation Blog

An in-depth look at the work of the Conservation Team at Nostell Priory, a National Trust eighteenth century mansion near Wakefield, West Yorkshire

NT Knole Conservation Team Blog

An insight into the weird and wonderful life of a National Trust Conservation Team at one of England's greatest houses.

View from my attic

Adventures in the world of Heritage & History

Charlecote Park: Uncovered

News, views and chat from the National Trust at Charlecote Park in Warwickshire.

Treasure Hunt

National Trust Collections

National Trust Going Green

Fit for the Future “The way to get started is to quit talking and begin doing.” Walt Disney

National Trust Press Office

National Trust news, events and insight

Heritage And A Slice Of Cake

The journey of a National Trust intern

